top of page

HEY!

HEY! so most of you reading this will already know our story, but for those new comers, heres a little about us. About 7 months ago, Adam and I met through work. We were school photographers. One day, we were both supervising and came back to the office at the end of one very hectic day for the both of us. Some of our team members didn't show up, our light and back drop stands got mixed up by the packer and my lights caught on fire. Fair to say, we were both exhausted and in need of some beers. We chatted for about 5 hours, and both thought that the other was pretty awesome. After the photo season was done we both continued to work side by side for the company as their editors. After a couple of months when the work was complete ,we thought "well, why not pack up and go travel the world?" Throwing it back a little bit further...

I grew up in South Africa, and then lived in Canada for 4 years before my family immigrated to Australia. Africa has always been my obsession, a muse for everything I do, especially in my paintings. I've been lucky enough to go back twice since leaving. Once with my best friend to travel Botswana, Zimbabwe and South Africa, a second time with my dad to celebrate my grandmas 90th birthday and a little road trip up through Namibia. However, this still wasn't quite enough Africa for my liking. I've always had this idea in my head that when I had enough time and money I needed to go back to Africa, top to bottom. I needed to go back 'home'. Now that I've finished my Bachelors of Communication Design and had about a year of working to save all my pennies this dream was starting to become a reality. This trip was a plan in my head for 5 years, it was always going to be solo. That's when I met Adam. Whilst things were still new and fresh, it was uncertain what was going to really happen, but as I began to fall in love for the first time with this goof ball of mine there was no way around it, he had to become my travel bud. Adam was originally planning to travel Vietnam so that's where we decided to start the journey. So, here we are. We're actually doing it. It felt like a mad scramble packing up, moving out of our share houses, getting my wisdom teeth out two weeks prior and preparing for this trip. We're actually not prepared at all. We have no idea which town we will be in next, or how long we will stay. All we know is that we have a general idea of which countries we would like to go. We are both trying to work on our creative endeavours along the way and with our incredibly tight budget we are using a website called 'Work away' to do volunteer work, which is proving to be such a great experience already. We are currently volunteering for a life style magazine called More Than Food here in Hoi An, Vietnam. Working on some graphic design and photographic projects in exchange for a house. We're open to absolutely anything, with the potential to work maintenance at a buddhist retreat in Myanmar next. Whilst we're getting wonderfully lost, this will be a little diary to keep track of all our encounters. Enjoy :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page